Alumni News and Awards

This page lists Oak Grovians who have won accolades / awards or have been in news (Please let us know of any OakGrovians who deserve a mention on this page)    

e-mail Sanjeev Meston

1. Dup Tsering Lepcha of 1969 batch has been awarded the ” SIKKIM SEWA SAMMAN”  by the Government of Sikkim a State Civilian Award on their State Day on May 17,2013

2. Ms Aarushi Kathpal and Paurush Dube were  awarded   “Best Oakgrovian 2012 Award consisting of Rs 50,000/- each, a certificate , a running trophy by AFII Education Foundation, Singapore. This will be ongoing award for each passing out batch

3. Bhanu Pratap Singh Awarded Youth Icon of India 2013 award.

4. Lt General Sanjeev Madhok (Retd)Retired  as Commander of  Army’s Shimla-based Training Command (ARTRAC)


6. Maj.Gen. Sanjay Meston,  SM, AVSM, VSM (Retd) 

7. Maj. Gen. Anand Singh Rawat (Retd)  Currently serving the Uttrakhand state ministry

8. Sweta Srivastava Vikram  published a book titled:  No Ocean Here: Stories in Verse about Women from Asia, Africa, and the Middle East

9. Eric Pinniger (Capt.) , L. C. Hammond,  R. J. Allen and  R.J. Carr represented India in the Gold Medal winning Hockey team of 1928 and 1932 Olympic Games

10. Maj G C Verma was awarded the Vir Chakra posthumously (1965 war)

11. Capt D K Jha ( Posthumous ) of Ordanance Corps on attachment with 7 Jat Regiment was awarded the Kirti Chakra for displaying extra devotion to duty,inspiring leadership & exceptional gallantry beyond the call of duty & making the supreme sacrifice on 22 Feb 2000.

12.  Jitendra Gupta s/o Mrs L Gupta Headmistress OGJS who passed away while a Gentleman Cadet at IMA in 1971 hasJackey Memorial Football (soccer) Tournament named after him. It is a well known tournament run by St. Georges’s College in  his memory for Mussoorie and DehraDun schools and clubs. Jitendra was a Student at Oak Grove and then at St. Georges. In the same year i.e 1971, in January,  Jitendra lost his brother (Capt. R N Gupta) also an Oak Grovian on the last day of the Indo-Pak 71 war.

13. Pramod Kumar  (late) 1991 batch: Commandant of the 49th battalion of CRPF, sacrificed his life valiantly and attained martyrdom in an encounter with militants in Nowhatta, Srinagar on 15th Aug, 2016.

14. Dr (Maj Gen) TS Ahluwalia (Retd) :Principal & Controller  (AMC)  currently serving

15. Maj. Gen.  Kamal Pathak (AMC)  currently serving

16. Mr. Christopher Douglas Payne received the Public Service Medal under the signature of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth the Second for Outstanding Public Service in 1997. The award was presented by the Governor -general of the Commonwealth of Australia. Chris Payne was born in Asansol and schooled at Oak Grove. he currently resides in Perth, Australia. He is a leading satellite expert and also coordinated the rescue of the oarsmen in the Antartica